Prop Maker and Set Designer

This set designer is a distant relative from mine. My uncle told me that he works in the stage and set industry and is currently working for a Theatre Company called, Bakehouse Factory.

Home

I found him on LinkenIn and sent him a message telling him who I was and whether I would be able to have his email address for me to ask him a few questions about what he actually does in the theatre company and generally about working in the stage and set industry.

The email I sent:

Dear Dan,

My uncle is your stepdad’s brother and he has passed on your details to me as he told me that you work within the stage and set industry currently working for a Theatre Company called, Bakehouse Factory.

I am due to graduate this year having completed a degree in Theatre, Performance and Event Design. One of my final projects for my degree is to research potential future employers and find out more about the industry that I am hoping to work in. I would be very grateful if you could answer these questions:
– Please could you tell me briefly about your background and how you progressed to your current role?

– Would you be able to forward any contact details to me of set designers who I could contact?

– When applying for a job, what personal qualities do you think one should have to be a set designer in the theatre industry?

 – Have you found that you have got jobs from word of mouth rather than answering job advertisements?

– Is there any possibility of having work experience with you at some point?

Thank you ever so much for your time. If there is any other advice you can offer me, that would be great!
Jess Woodcock

Leave a comment